Velvet and Paisley
current
archives
profile
email
guestbook
notes
rings
host

Readinest (huh?)
2001-08-16 @ 11:01 a.m.

I worked the full evening shift last night so I got to work in the special care unit (dementia). It is so much more laid back than the floor. I assisted everyone to bed by eight and the shift does not end till 10:30. So i was free to read "Weep No More, My Lady" by Mary Higgins Clark. What a night.

Right now, I am at home alone with Velvet, who is saying "I sad. Momma, I sad." And why is she sad? Because Aaron went to work today instead of coming over to play with her.

Aaron and I took Velvet to the storytime at the library yesterday, but we had to leave before they started the scheduled activity because Velvet was too rambunctious. We did manage to check out three new books for Velvet though. I swear we must be the readinest (don't you love it when I make up words) family in the world.

I got a letter from Rubin's adoptive family yesterday. They said they will be thinking of me on his birthday. I wish they would pray for me instead. The grief over losing a child to adoption is the same as losing a child to death, except you never receive closure. It is just an endless, abyss of pain. The kind of pain that etches itself into the deepest crevices of your being, until you don't know who you are without the pain.

Plus with my secondary infertility issues resurfacing I feel like poop.

But hey, I'm going to go see Blink 182 tomorrow. Maybe that will dull the pain. I've been to three concerts at the Gorge, in George, WA (Lollapalooza 96, Lilith Fair, Blink 182 2000) and one in Pullman (311) and I always forget to take something. I am trying to make up the definitve packing list of what to take to a concert, any advice? I also need to figure out how to sneak my camera in this time. If you have any helpful hints, click on the guestbook link and let me know what they are.