Velvet and Paisley
current
archives
profile
email
guestbook
notes
rings
host

Harry Potter & Religion
2002-04-07 @ 10:28 p.m.

I saw a program today with a segment about banning Harry Potter books. I was angered to the point of wanting a swarm of bees to sting the pompous ass of the minister, who led a Harry Potter book burning bonfire. There are so many ways to interpret the Bible and lest we forget the it was written by mortal men and not God himself. If one is to believe in a forgiving God, how can one also believe in stoning people to death for playing with Ouija or having a psychic reading.

Back to Harry Potter. The books deal with witchcraft, but are fictional. They are not a how to guide. These same people would have us ban the Chronicles of Narnia, The Wizard of OZ, and The Hobbit.

Censorship is a bad, bad thing. I have personally gone out of my way to read the books that have been banned most frequently from schools and have enjoyed most of them.

FYI: I am a practicing Christian. I attend church (although infrequently) and I enjoy reading the Bible. However I do not agree with most interpretations of the Bible. I believe I can go out on Sundays, wear make-up, go to the movies, dance, and take my daughter trick-or-treating on Halloween. That's just me though. I always listen and respect othe beliefs unless they do not do the same in return.

And I'm spent.