Velvet and Paisley
current
archives
profile
email
guestbook
notes
rings
host

Paisley Allison Walker is Here
2003-06-19 @ 2:15 p.m.

On June 5th, I went in for my 35 week appointment. My ob/gyn performed the first vaginal exam and found me to be 5-6 centimeters dilated. Because I live thirty miles out of town, he thought it would be best to plan an induction. So at 4:30 I went to the hospital for an amniocentesis to assess fetal lung maturity. At this point we also found out baby is a girl. After the amnio, I was admitted to a postpartum room to wait on the results of the test and the subsequent induction. At 10:00pm the results came in at 21 and they like the levels to be above 44 so that night I received an injection of steriods to increase surfactant levels. Because the levels were so low I received another injection on Friday night and my doctor wanted to let the drug soak in for at least 24 hours.

Finally Sunday morning came. At 6:30am I went into a L&D room at which time an IV was started and I was hooked up to an external fetal monitor. My ob/gyn came in a 7:20am and checked me. I was at 7 centimeters without any contractions. He broke my water at that time. At 8:45am he came in and told me I could get up and walk. At 9am I was up walking around in the hall when I expereinced my first contraction. At 9:15 I went back intp the L&D room and the nurse checked me. I was 8 centimeters and at a +1 station. She paged my ob/gyn and he came right up from the cafeteria. He checked me and I was complete. Two contractions later, at 9:33am, Paisley Allison Walker made her grand entrance into the world. She weighed 6lb 6 3/4oz and was 20 1/2 inches long. She was hypoglycemic at birth and had to receive glucose and spend some time in the nursery before I was able to see her for more than a few minutes. I did not tear or require an episiotomy, but I had a little post partum hemorrhage. I had to endure painful uterine massage and two doses of pitocin to control the bleeding.

Paisley and I came home on Monday, June 9th and are doing great. She is a champion nurser and a very pleasant, content baby. Velvet is adjusting well to her big sister role.